Warren & Piper

Some of you may have seen that Rick Warren has been invited by John Piper to speak at the Desiring God National Convention.  I have a lot of thoughts on this, but unfortunately opinions are recklessly flying all over the place on this issue.  For that reason I will limit my comments to say that I have some serious concerns about it.  Furthermore, I would encourage you to take a look at two excellent articles that articulate some of the concerns that I share with this situation.

First, the world famous Tim Challies has posted an excellent treatment on the issue titled “Why John Piper should not have invited Rick Warren.” If you are thinking through this issue at all you NEED to read this.  It is fair but to the point.

Second, if you are wondering why anyone would possible have a problem with Rick Warren and his ministry (besides the fact that the Jonas Brothers did a set for the Easter service at his church) then you should take the time to read Michael Horton’s article “on Rick Warren, Modern Reformation, and Desiring God.

I have some additional thoughts on the issue, however I think that the blogosphere already has plenty of opinions flying around on this issue so I will not add to the “dog pile.”  The two articles above are more than sufficient for thinking through the negative side of this decision.

