No Cheesburgers & Fries?

This month’s runners world contained an article about the Perfect Diet for Runners.  Unfortunately it did not reflect my diet very well.  However, there were a couple of hints that I think I could add to my diet.  First, it said to enjoy the meat you eat.  I can do this because I eat cheeseburgers.  But I think that they had something different in mind:

Flex Tip: Enjoy the Meat You Eat
As athletes, we sometimes forget that food is more than fuel for our runs. “Remember that one of the great joys of eating with people is the social and emotional nourishment,” says Blatner. Many runners have bonded over a breakfast of pancakes and sausage following a morning run, or celebrated a great race finish with friends and a steak dinner—and there’s no reason to stop. Following a flexitarian diet is all about being flexible, so you don’t need to feel guilty about enjoying meat.

The second theme from this article that I enjoyed was peanut butter. I am a big fan of peanut butter. Here is one of the snacks suggested in the article:

Late July Mini Peanut Butter Sandwich Crackers
WHAT IT IS: A bag of these bite-sized crackers contains 120 calories, 20 grams of carbs, and 2 grams of protein, making them a great prerun snack.

Tell me that doesn’t sound good…

