Friday Quote: Questions for your Doctor

Three questions that you should ask your doctor if you are told that you have a chemical imbalance (you can bet your doctor will get angry):

  1. What tests were run to prove a physical problem is present?
  2. How do you know that this alleged physical problem is the cause of my behavioral symptoms?
  3. What proof do you have that the medicine you are recommending corrects that problem?

I heard these in a lecture from Dr. Stuart Scott, and thought that they were pretty helpful questions to ask when your doctor gives you just about any diagnosis.  If the doctor tells me I have a broken bone I am going to ask to see the x-ray…

These are questions that will help get to the bottom of the problem, and receive the proper treatment no matter what the problem is.

