Running for God instead of from God

In this week’s Boston Marathon Ryan Hall, an American Marathoner, finished in 3rd place.  His time of 2:09:40 was just a minute off the winning time.  This was interesting to me because earlier this year I had the opportunity to run in a 15k race that Hall also participated in (of course he beat the rest of the field by over a mile, and he beat me by… let’s not go there).  It was also interesting because Hall is a professing Christian.  In fact, Baptist Press did an interesting little piece on the race HERE.  Here is an excerpt:

Hall, of Mammoth Lakes, Calif., says running is more than just a competition, but is a way he can glorify God.

“My faith shapes everything I do,” Hall said in a Baptist Press interview prior to the Olympics. “God calls us to do everything we do with all our heart unto Him, and that’s what I try to do with my running. I am constantly trying to work on my heart. Trying to get it in the right place. I try and not be competitive with other runners. I just want to be all that God created me to be and do what I am doing to my very best.”


