Don’t Waste ’09

Over the holidays I was able to take a little vacation time, which is why I haven’t been around here for a while.  During that time off I spent a lot of time reading.  One of the things that I read was Jonathan Edwards’ Resolutions. If you are not familiar with JE’s Resolutions I would encourage you to take the time to read them over.  There are 70 of them in all–most of them are only one sentence.  Edwards wrote these resolutions when he was just 19.  His motivation was to use every minute of his life for the glory of God.  He did not want to waste his life.

Edwards’ resolutions were convicting to me as I read thorugh them, and they encouraged me to evaluate my own life.  With the New Year here I figured I should set some goals for ’09.  Here are a few of my ’09 goals:

  1. Read through the entire Bible
  2. Read through Calvin’s Institutes
  3. Run in 3 5k races
  4. Use my money in such a way that the people around me know that it belongs to Christ
  5. Begin memorizing Scripture with my daughter

These are just a few of the goals that I set, and they are aimed at making sure that I don’t waste 2009.   God has given me this time to use it wisely (Eph 5:15-17), and that is what I hope to do by His grace.

What are your goals for 2009?

2 Comments

Comments are closed.