The Answer is No One…

greek-manuscript

…the question is πρὸς ταῦτα τίς ἱκανός; Or, in English, “Who is sufficient for these things?”  This was Paul’s question in 2 Corinthians 2:16 as he contemplated our part in God’s plan of redemption. After church plants, missionary work, persecution, prolific writing, and countless other accomplishments this was still Paul’s attitude.  He was amazed that God was using him in the great plan of Salvation.

Last night I had the opportunity to hear from a missionary who referenced this verse, and it reminded me of some important things.

First, any gifts or capabilities that I have come from the Lord.  He has given them to me so that I can bring him more glory.  I do not deserve credit (glory) for those gifts; GOD DOES!  This means that I must work hard to use those gifts for His glory by developing my gifts, using my gifts, and always giving God the credit for my gifts.

Second, any ministry involvement that I have is from the Lord.  He has allowed me to participate in His Church in various ways.  This means that I am nothing more than His servant (and I don’t’ deserve to be that).  I don’t have the right to manipulate people or circumstances to accomplish my goals in ministry.  To use the words of one of my professors, “I must do God’s business God’s way.”

Third, I need to remind myself of these things a lot more than I am right now.  Most of the time I do not have the same mentality that Paul did in 2 Cor 2:16. For me the answer to the question is usually not “no one,” but rather “I am.”

May God change my heart (and maybe your’s) so that I (we) can see things from His perspective.

