New Year, and a New Prayer Request

I have to apologize for my absence from the blog over the holidays.  I was hoping to be able to do a lot of work around here in preparation for the new year, but that just didn’t happen.  As many of you might know, my wife and I are expecting our second child in July and my wife has been extremely ill.  Additionally, there were several times that I had set aside for blogging that were preempted by pressing ministry needs in the “real world.”  We have had a lot of tragedy in our little church body over the last two weeks.

Now that the new year is here I am hoping to get back on the “blog wagon.”  I have some series that I have been thinking about doing, a few book reviews that I am looking forward to getting out, and some other ideas as well.  But for now, I have a pressing prayer request that I just received from a dear brother serving in Kenya.  I will let you read it in his words: 

Hello all,
 I just wanted to give you an update on our situation. You may or may not know that Kenya had their presidential elections Thursday DEC 27th. The president has regained his seat and the challenger and most of the country are saying it was rigged, so in light of this the country has went into chaos. I understand that not a lot of this is being broadcast in western news. It is bad folks. Currently we have had 150 reported deaths , many riots and looting. All the stores are closed , ATM machines are empty and soon i think it will get worse because of the stores being closed , people are going to be getting hungry. As for us we are running low on everything, food , money and supplies. The opposing party has called for a meeting Thursday the 3rd and is calling for 1,000,000 people to gather together and inaugurate him as president, which would create a parallel government, which would throw the country into a civil war. We are still in Maasai and we are in touch with several people in Nairobi, Police, friends etc.. They say it is very unsafe. We have delayed my dad from coming at this point and we are on stand by with the trucks packed in case we have to bug-out. Please pray for the country and for our families here in the midst of it. Also pray for my workers my friends who are all at their home places. They are watching their towns burn down around them. One of my guys called me and he was hiding in the bush last night with his cows. It is a bad time in Kenya.
  In Christ,
  Travis

