A Word on the Heisman

At the beginning of this post I want to say that I am a huge Gators fan, and I think Tebow should win the Heisman.  I don’t want to take up half the day telling you why, but I do want to respond to something that I have been hearing over the last few days.  The knock against Tebow is that he is just a running quarterback, and because of that the trophy should go to one of the other quarterbacks who plays the position better.  The logic is that the other two guys are “actually QBs and Tebows is just an athlete.”  (This is a direct quote from a Sports Radio talk show host) 

Here is the problem with that logic; Tebow is the nation’s second-leading passer, having completed 68 percent of his throws for 3,132 yards, with 29 touchdowns and just six interceptions in his first season as a starter.   That is a pretty good stat line for a guy who is just an athlete.  Not to mention the College of Charleston wasn’t on the schedule this year for UF.  

Ok, that is my soapbox moment for the day.  Hope you have a great weekend.

One Comment

Comments are closed.