1 yr

becca-newborn-320x200.jpgOne year ago at the very moment that I am writing this the doctors began enducing my wife into labor. A few hours later we had the opportunity to briefly meet Rebecca for the first time before they took her to the NICU.  After anxiously waiting for a seven hours we finally got the call to go spend some time with our new daughter.  Elyse was the first to hold her, and I got to be the first to change a “poopy.”  Looking back, it doesn’t seem like that great of a deal, but it sure made me happy. 

In the hospital, a year ago, I didn’t think that it was possible to love Rebecca any more that I already did.  One year later I know that this isn’t true.  Every day – as I spend time with my daughter, pray for her, pray with her, read to her, have her “read” to me, hug her, watch her personality blosom, etc. – I love my daughter more and more.  When she turns to me and gives me a big sloppy kiss I feel like the Grinch when his heart grew three sizes.  Just this week Rebecca has “mastered” the art of walking on her feet (I qualifiy it in this way b/c she long ago mastered the art of walking on her knees).  She had been putting together a few steps at a time, but now she is walking all the way across the room.  Being a parent, and loving like this, makes the picture of the Father sending the Son to be crucified so much more vivid.  The Father forsook the Son, for a short time, so that the Church could be redeemed.  Just thinking about it makes me want to break out into doxology!rebeccas-first-baseball-game-013-320×200.jpg

One of my favorite memories from the last year of our life was Rebecca’s first Spring Training game.  We went and saw the D-rays play the Reds and Rebecca loved it right up until she fell asleep in my arms.  Then there was her first regular season game, where she saw her first home run (courtesy of Johnny Gomes).  As great as these moment were it is also hard to beat the nightly cuddle time I get with Becca, or the way she greets me every day when I get home from work.     

On days like today I cannot help but to think of the glorious God that we serve.  God has allowed me to be used in the work that he has planned for my daughter. I pray everyday that I don’t mess it up; but at the same time I know that I cannot foil God’s plan.  Ultimately, it is my prayer that God would give Rebecca the gift of faith so that she could repent and turn to Jesus for the forgiveness of her sins, and that Rebecca would be used to bring glory to God and further His Kingdom.    becca-daddy-320x200.jpg

Update: Becca’s b-day has also been blogged HERE

