Great Illustration

Yesterday a professor of my shared a great illustration on the importance of observation. I thought that I would pass it along to you. So, next time you are reading your Bible and trying to observe what the text says remember this:

“Sir William Osler, the eminent physician, always sought to impress upon young medical students the importance of observing details.  While stressing this point before a student group he indicated a bottle on his desk.  “This bottle contains a sample for analysis,” he announced.  “It is possible by testing it to determine the disease from which the patient suffers.”  Suiting actions to words, he dipped a finger into the fluid and then into his mouth.  “Now,” he continued, “I am going to pass this bottle around.  Each of you taste the contents as I did and see if you can diagnose the case.”  As the bottle was passed along each row, each student gingerly poked his finger in and bravely sampled the contents.  Osler then retrieved the bottle.  “Gentlemen” he said, “now you will know what I mean when I speak about details.  Had you been observant, you would have seen that I put my index finger into the bottle but my middle finger into my mouth.”[1]


     [1]Traina, 32-33

