Update

The first week of seminary is in the books, and so am I.  There will be a lot of reading this semester (I guess that is normal), but that is not so bad for someone who enjoys reading as much as I do.  I am extremely blessed to have the opportunity to sit under the professors at the expositors seminary.  All of my profs are also pastors, and so each one of them has great insight into pastoral ministry. 

I have to keep reminding myself that it is only by God’s grace that I have this opportunity.  The tendency of the flesh is to be prideful and think “finally, I deserve this opportunity.”  This has been a struggle for me, but as I think of how many people have sacrificed to help me in this endeavour it helps me to be humble. I cannot say enough about my wife, Elyse, in this regard.  She has been supportive of me in every sense of the word (she even made me muffins for my first day of classes).  I know that with Elyse’s support our family will make it through these busy years until the Lord brings us into more busy years. 

I would appreciate all of your prayers in the weeks to come.  I specifically need you to pray that I will not be puffed up with the pride of knowledge, but rather that I will be humbled as I learn more and more of my Creator. 

Look for things to get back into a normal schedule around here pretty soon (maybe tomorrow); thanks for your patience.

