I got nothing…

To be honest with you “I got nothing” today.   My mind is in several places, including the start of seminary next Tuesday, and it is hurting in all of those place.  Every time I get headaches like this I cannot help but think about how horrible sin is.  I do not know exactly what is making my head hurt – in this regard I am in the company of every doctor in the world – but I do know that when Jesus comes back I won’t have to worry about headaches anymore.  Which actually brings me full circle back to “I got nothing.” 

 Every day I live me life and I continue in my own sin; specific sins.  I am prideful, I argue with my wife (or a fence post whichever is closer), I get frustrated with my daughter (who is only 10 mnths old), and the list could go on for quite some time.  Yes, even though I expereince a small taste of the horrible effect of sin through my headache I continue to live in sin.  I can completely understand what the apostle Paul was talking about when he said: 

For we know that the Law is spiritual, but I am of flesh, sold into bondage to sin. For what I am doing, I do not understand; for I am not practicing what I would like to do, but I am doing the very thing I hate.          Romans 7:14-15

don’t understand it either.  This is why “I got nothing.”  When I think of my propensity toward sin, and then the Holy God who will judge me I cannot help but shudder.  “I got nothing.”  What am I going to tell God?  That I don’t understand what happened?  Or, how about that I worked on staff at a church, and even went to seminary?  Somehow I do not think that will help:

Many will say to Me on that day, Lord, Lord did we not prophesy in Your name, and in Your name cast out demons, and in Your name perform many miracles?  And then I will declare to them, I never knew you; depart from Me, you who practice lawlessness.    Matthew 7:22-23

When that day of judgment come I know that I will not be able to depend on my own merit for entrance into the kingdom.  “I got nothing.”  However, there is hope for sinners like me.  Jesus has made redemeption possible for sinners like me who have nothing.  So when I stand before Jesus I’m not going to try and convince Him that I am good enough to be a part of His kingdom.  Instead, I am going to admit my sins and depend upon Him for salvation – just like I have on this earth.  By doing that I go from some jerk who’s got nothing to a child of God who knows Jesus:


But when the fullness of the time came, God sent forth His Son, born of a woman, born under the Law, so that He might redeem those who were under the Law, that we might receive the adoption as sons. Because you are sons, God has sent forth the Spirit of His Son into our hearts, crying, “Abba! Father!”                                   Galatians 4:4-6

I guess this entire post is me trying to put a positive spin on a bad headache.  But, when Jesus has poured out His love on you it is not so heard to find positives in this world.  At the very least we can look forward to the age to come when there will be no more headaches.

