You just wake up one morning and you’re a heretic.

Some of you may have been around here long enough to remember a short series of posts that I did on the topic of limited atonement. Well unfortunately I found out this weekend that because of these posts I am a heretic. It came as quite the shock for my wife and I. It was particularly hard to swallow considering I preached on Jude 3-4 this weekend. We are still in a daze over the whole thing, but hopefully we will be able to pick up the pieces. It is funny, you go to bed one night feeling completely orthodox and then the next day you wake up and find out that you are a heretic. I would like to thank the good Rev. Falwell for bringing this situation to my attention. Last Friday Falwell preached a chapel message in which he made this statement:

“We are not into particular love or limited atonement. As a matter of fact we consider it heresy.”

I wonder who is going to wake up Spurgeon, Owen, Watson, Edwards, Bunyan, Whitefield, and a “couple” of other church leaders and let them know that they were actually heretics not faithful pastors. Also if someone wouldn’t mind calling John Piper, John MacArthur, Albert Mohler, Mark Dever, R.C. Sproul, Steve Lawson, James White, and a “couple” of other pastors and let them know they are heretics I would really appreciate it. There is no need to call Tom Ascol, he knows and he has even written about it HERE

This is almost as hard as when Ergun Caner helped me realize that “Calvinists are worse than Muslims”  because “Muslims know when to quit.” 

