A Fly on the Wall

If I could be a fly on the wall for one conversation in all of history I think that it would have to be the converstation that Christ had with his disciples on the road to Emmaus (Luke 24:13-35). Of all the accounts in Scripture I think that this is the one that I would most want to be present for:

vv. 25-27
O foolish men and slow of heart to believe in all that the prophets have spoken! Was it not necessary for the Christ to suffer these things and to enter into His glory? Then beginning with Moses and with all the prophets, He explained to them the things concerning Himself in all the Scriptures.

This may seem strange to you; most people would probably pick something like the Exodus account, or the fisherofmen.JPGCrucifixion. I think that I would chose this account for two reasons. 1) It would give me the opportunity to be in the presence of the Ressurected Christ. 2) I would have the opportunity to have Christ, himself, explain the meaing of the OT to me. Can you imagine being present for this conversation and then being transported back to 2007? I am pretty sure that I would immediately begin a sermon series in the OT.

There is a lot of discussion about what exactly Jesus could have explained to the disciples.  A close look will help this (somewhat).  The two disciples were foolish because they did not understand, from the OT, that the Christ would suffer these things and enter into HIs Glory.  It was after pointing this out that Christ explained what the OT said about himself.  As we look at this conversation there is little doubt that Jesus was trying to resolve the disciples area of “foolishness.”  Thus he must have explained from the text of the OT why and how he suffered and why and how he would ascend to Glory.  The question that we have, since we were not present for this conversation, is how does this passage affect that way that we look at the OT?  Hopefully it will cause us all to see Christ as the center piece of the entire Scriptures; OT and NT.   

