Luke 24:25-17

And He said to them, “O foolish men and slow of heart to believe in all that the prophets have spoken! “Was it not necessary for the Christ to suffer these things and to enter into His glory?” Then beginning with Moses and with all the prophets, He explained to them the things concerning Himself in all the Scriptures.cocreadinglist.JPG

This passage has intrigued theologians for ages. One cannot help but wonder what exactly Jesus said. Oh for the day when we will see what is unseen, and know in full what has been revealed in part. But until that day we are left to wonder what Jesus said. From this text alone we can gather several pieces of information. Look at the circumstances. The two disciples were foolish because they did not understand that Jesus had “to suffer these things and to enter into His glory…” It was after this statement that Christ explained what the OT from Moses to the Prohpets said about himself. So then, there is little doubt that Jesus was trying to resolve their foolishness. Thus he must have explained, in some way, from the OT why and how he had to suffer, and why and how he ascended to glory.I know that his is rather straight forward, and I did not really break any new ground. However, I hope that I did spur you on to further thought in this matter. That was, in fact, my goal.

Look for more posts like this one in the future here at COCT. It is my aim to help my readers understand God’s word. I want to do that by giving you just enough of a taste of the difficult passages so that you will be hungry to dig deeper.

