Is Danger Inherently Bad?

My wife and I had a pretty interesting discussion Wednesday night over a cup of Starbucks (you know really coffee talk). The question that I posed to her was, is danger inherently bad?  When we often times think of a dangerous situation as a bad situation. But is danger actually a bad thing? And should we always avoid danger? I think the answer to both of these questions should probably be no. There are two specific reasons that led my wife and I to this conclusions.

  1. Danger is viewed as bad because of its ultimate feared result. And the ultimate feared result of danger (at least the kind that we were talking about) is death.  Since my wife and I are Christians we must view death as the Bible does. And the Bible is clear that death is a part of this world.  Because of sin we cannot avoid death.  As Christians my wife and I do not fear physical death because we have been set free from spiritual death.  This means that as Christians we cannot view all dagner as bad because it might lead to our death.  As Siggy from What About Bob would say, “We are all going to die.  You are going to die, I am going to die, there is nothing anyone can do about it.”  This is very perceptive, and from a physical perspective it is very true.    Our culture here in America has gone to great lengths to suppress this fact, but that does not change the fact itself.  To be frank we as a culture are in denial when it comes to death.  It really is odd that people do not know how to deal with something that will happen to each and every person on this earth (until the return of Christ).  I am not suggesting that we be cold and aloof towards the sorrow of death.  Mourning is appropriate, but most people do not even know how to mourn.  The fact that many people need therapy following the death of a loved shows that we as a culture are not doing a good job of dealing with death.  Going back to my original point this is why we have insulated ourselves so much from danger.  Do you realize how many phobias exists?  I do not think that this point (Our culture insulates itself from danger because it is afraid of death) needs much illustration.  But being a preacher at heart I will illustrate anyway!  My wife and I just had our first child. This means that shockingly in the last year my trips to “Babie’s-R-Us” have exceeded my trips to “Home Depot.”  It does not take long in “Babies-R-Us” to realize that you could spend quite a few paychecks (at least the ones I get) on safe guards and safety equipment alone.  Some of these items my wife and I have purchased.  However, my wife and I also realize that it would be a great disservice to our daughter if we insulated her from the danger of every little “boo boo” her entire childhood.  There are great lessons to be learned in the little “boo boo’s.”  And we know that our primary job is to teach her to love the Lord and his laws.  We must also be wise in protecting her physically, but ultimately we must trust in the Lord for her safety.  If we are always sacred to death that she will get hurt doing something then we will be teaching her by our actions not to trust in the Lord (Let me add for the sake of her grandparents, who read this blog, that we are concerned for her safety and we take appropriate measure to ensure that safety.  And if we ever have a boy we do not plan to name him Sue.).  My point is that danger is a part of this life, and we want to teach our daughter this now on a small scale so that as she gets older and leaves our care she will be able to handle the inherent dangers of this world.
  2. The second reason that danger is not inherently bad (again from a Christian worldview) is that there are inherent dangers in spreading the Gospel throughout all the Nations.  Remember Christ warned us that because they persecuted Him they will persecute us as well.  What is so amazing is that this danger is not presented by the Bible as a deterrent.  In fact the apostles considered it an honor to experience the reproach of Christ.  Even Moses, who lived thousands of years before Christ, “considering the reproach of Christ greater riches than the treasures of Egypt; for he was looking to the reward” (Heb 11:26).  The reason that Christians can view the world in this way is because we are looking beyond this world to the age to come.  We are greatly anticipating the arrival of our King Jesus and then the reproaches that we faced because we were loyal to Him will be forgotten.  This why the dangers of being a Christian should be of little concern. 

