Why the Seekers aren’t Lost (pt. II)

In my last post I presented this thesis:

“…when the term seeker (or some form of the word) is used in Scripture it is with reference to a regenerate individual.

I began developing this thesis with Romans 3:11b. From the context of this passage, as well as the clear teaching of the passage my conclusion was that the natural man who is apart from the redeeming work of Christ cannot seek God.  I need to be careful with this topic. To say that unbelievers cannot seek God may be a threat to someone’s philosophy of ministry.  My intent is simply to put the Scripture before you, and let it speak for itself.  I do not want you to accept my system, but rather I want you to submit to what Scripture says.  So here are a few passages that use the term seeker (or some form of it). 

I Chron 16:10-14:   ”Glory in His holy name; Let the heart of those who seek the Lord be glad. Seek the Lord and His strength; Seek His face continually. Remember His wonderful deeds which He has done, His marvels and the judgments from His mouth,   O seed of Israel His servant, Sons of Jacob, His chosen ones! He is the Lord our God;”

I Chron 28:9 “As for you, my son Solomon, know the God of your father, and serve Him with a whole heart and a willing mind; for the Lord searches all hearts, and understands every intent of the thoughts. If you Him, He will let you find Him; but if you forsake Him, He will reject you forever.”

Ps 9:10 “And those who know Your name will put their trust in You, For You, O Lord, have not forsaken those who seek You.”

Ps 10:4 “The wicked, in the haughtiness of his countenance, does not seek Him. All his thoughts are, ‘There is no God.'”

Ps 119:155 “Salvation is far from the wicked, For they do not seek Your statutes.”

Isa 65:1 “I permitted Myself to be sought by those who did not ask for Me; I permitted Myself to be found by those who did not seek Me. I said, ‘Here am I, here am I,’ To a nation which did not call on My name.”

Isa 65:10“Sharon will be a pasture land for flocks, And the valley of Achor a resting place for herds, For My people who seek Me.”

Acts 15:17 “So that the rest of mankind may seek the Lord, And all the Gentiles who are called by My name…”

Heb 11:6 “And without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is and that He is a rewarder of those who seek Him.

There are obviously many more passages that deal with this subject but I think that this is enough to digest for now.  My plan is to cover three more aspects of this same topic:   

  1. Everyone who seeks God finds Him (Luke 10:11), thus seeking must be the result of the regenerating work of the Spirit. 
  2. There may be some who look like they are seeking God, but they are not (Mt 16:4).
  3. Jonathan Edwards perspective on seekers. 
