Living in the World

globe.jpgBy now I am sure that most of you have seen the headlines from yesterday.  Thankfully crisis was averted, and the terrorist plot was uncovered.  It really is amazing to think about how close these men came to carrying out their intended plan, and from what I can tell it has scared a lot of people.  Let me give you an example.  I enjoy listening to Sports Talk radio, and did so yesterday during drive to and from work.  What amazed me was the subject matter of yesterday’s shows.  I heard portions of three local shows, with three different hosts, and all of them spent the entire time talking about the terrorist plot.  This incident has people scared. 

The question that I can’t get out of my mind is, How should the Church (particularly here in America) respond to incidents like this? Obviously fear is not a proper reaction, but what is?  How can I respond to this situation in such a way that the people around me will see the glory of God through His Gospel?  

The first reaction we must have is an attitude of dependence upon God.  This means that we are not afraid because we understand that Gos is in control of our situaiton.  People notice attitudes like this. Confidence to trust that God is orchestrating the events of teh world.  Confidence in God means that we do not even fear the fall of the U.S. government.  There are many Christians who, unfortunately, trust more in our government for security than in God.  Would it really be a bad thing for the Church if the government fell?  Would it actually change anything?  I often thank God for the freedoms that we have in our country, but these freedoms have prevented us from suffering.  I know what you are thinking, SUFFERING?  Yeah suffering!  Christ said It would take suffering to do the work of the Gospel. 

Matthew 24:9 Then they will deliever you up to tribulation and put you to death, and you will be hated by all the nations for my name’s sake.

Matthew 24:14 And this gospel of the kingdom will be proclaimed throughout the whole world as a testimony to all the nations, and then the end will come.

After all this pontification I am really still left with the question, How should the Church (particularly here in America) respond to incidents like this?  I guess the only thing that I have at this point is to trust God, be prepared to suffer and sacrifice for the Gospel, and pray for the wisdom that I need to see how God is working (James 1:5-8).

Comments?

